About us

The Alex Dworkin Canadian Jewish Archives (formerly known as the Canadian Jewish Congress Charities Committee National Archives) is a program of Jewish Federations Canada-UIA, and is supported by the Alex Dworkin Foundation for Jewish Archives, through Federation CJA. Following the cessation of operations of Canadian Jewish Congress and its charitable trust, on January 1, 2016 the Archives officially inaugurated its new name and became a program operating directly under the auspices of Jewish Federations Canada-UIA.

The Alex Dworkin Canadian Jewish Archives collects and preserves documentation on all aspects of the Jewish presence in Quebec and Canada. Most of the catalogue descriptions of our holdings can be consulted online, through the database of the Canadian Jewish Heritage Network (www.cjhn.ca).

Notable aspects of the Canadian Jewish community reflected in the collections include immigration, integration into Canadian society, community organization, Zionism, human rights issues and discrimination, oppressed Jewry in other countries, education, literature, and genealogy. Since January 1, 1992, we have benefited from the status of "Service agréé d'archives privées," a program of the Bibliothèque et Archives nationales du Québec.

[Read more...]

Also on this site...

Who was Alex Dworkin?

Our Interpretive Guide to United Restitution Organization Claims is a site created by the Alex Dworkin Canadian Jewish Archives (formerly the CJCCC National Archives) to assist claimants and their descendants in understanding the documentation of the claims process.

Our popular database of Canadian Jewish Casualties in the Canadian Armed Forces has now been moved to a new location, at the Canadian Jewish Heritage Network.

Our Jewish Community FAQ section provides information on Jewish holidays, Holocaust-related resources, and other links.

Special note: You can now purchase copies or publications using PayPal.

À propos de nous

Le Service des Archives juives canadiennes Alex Dworkin (Alex Dworkin Canadian Jewish Archives) est un programme des Fédérations juives du Canada - UIA, précédemment connu sous le nom de "Archives nationales du Congrès juif canadien, C.C." (Archives CJCCC). Après la dissolution du Congrès juif canadien et son volet caritatif, le 1er janvier 2016 le Services des Archives juives canadiennes Alex Dworkin a officiellement adopté son nouveau nom, et est devenu un programme agissant directement sous les auspices des Fédérations juives du Canada - UIA. Nous sommes  soutenus par la Fondation pour les archives juives Alex Dworkin, par le biais de Fédération CJA.

Notre mission est de recueillir et de préserver la documentation relative à la présence juive au Québec et au Canada. Tous les aspects de cette communauté y sont regroupés, notamment l'immigration, l'intégration au sein de la collectivité canadienne, l'organisation communautaire, le sionisme, la discrimination, les Juifs opprimés en pays étrangers, l'éducation, la littérature, la généalogie et davantage.

Notre inventaire de fonds est en ligne, et et beaucoup de descriptions détaillées sont disponibles par le biais du Réseau canadien du patrimoine juif (www.cjhn.ca), une vitrine qui donne accès aux catalogues et aux documents numérisés de plusieurs archives et musées.
 
Depuis le 1 janvier 1992 les Archives juives canadiennes Alex Dworkin (connu à l'époque sous le nom Service des Archives du Congrès juif canadien) détiennent le statut d'Archives agréées avec Bibliothèque et Archives nationales du Québec.

[suite...]

Également sur ce site...

Qui était Alex Dworkin?

Le guide d'interprétation "United Restitution Organization Claims Interpretative Guide" est un site créé par le service des Archives juives canadiennes Alex Dworkin (alors les Archives CJCCC) pour aider les demandeurs et leurs descendants à mieux comprendre la documentation relative au traitement des demandes d'indemnisation.

Notre base de données populaire "Canadian Jewish Casualties in the Canadian Armed Forces" (Victimes juives canadiennes, membres des Forces armées canadiennes) est maintenant accessible sur le site du Réseau canadien du patrimoine juif.

Notre foire aux questions comprend des informations sur divers aspects de la communauté juive canadienne.

A noter : Vous pouvez maintenant vous procurer des copies ou publications et payer par le biais de PayPal.